Johnny CRAB-Appleseed

Hmm…

GODS & RADICALS

By Judith O’Grady

CottonwoodFall

I love myths like I love ice cream, but I also like to know. I like backstory, the final pages of classic novels where the author tells what becomes of the characters, and the correspondences between tales. When I was little and was read Rudyard Kipling’s ‘Just So Stories’ I loved them all (they explain how things happened, became, are) but I felt a particular kinship with the Elephant’s Child (of the ‘satiable curiosity) who was always asking, “Why?” But unlike him, I like most of all finding out for myself.

When I was in university, I was dating a fellow who passionately raced dirt-bike motorcycles. We would hang around between classes in the cafeteria and often we would meet other motorcycle aficionados, sit around a table, and chat. In order to have an interest in the conversation, I set myself the goal of figuring out what…

View original post 1,251 more words

Leave a Reply

