Humor

We were watching a tribute to Robin Williams on PBS last night and I realized something important.  I stole heavily from him as Mork.  The voices, the accents, the rapid-fire delivery… yup, yup, yup.  I still do all that.

Here’s a little secret very few people know: I wasn’t always funny.

When I was a kid, I felt small and overwhelmed by the humor and quick wit of my dad’s family.  I spent too much of my childhood crying about being teased instead of fighting back.  I tried fighting back physically, but that just got me in trouble.  I needed to be able to fight back *verbally*.

I remember that I made a decision to change myself and then somehow I did it, but I never remembered how.

Mork and Mindy was on from 1978 to 1982 – from when I was 10 to when I was 14.  That sounds exactly right. 🙂

So thank you, Robin.  For everything.

Nanu nanu!

 

Leave a Reply

