Humor Pt2

Other things that warped my mind and gave me comedy as a kid:

  • 70s game shows.  Watching them as an adult, I was amazing how much they got away with!  I particularly loved Hollywood Squares, which featured many of the funniest people of the era (Jonathan Winters, Paul Lynde, Charles Nelson Reilly, Phyllis Diller, etc.)
  • The Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts.  Also known as “how to insult your friends”. 🙂
  • The Muppet Show.  Also, Sesame Street.  Jim Henson and Frank Oz got me at a young age. I’m somewhere between Fozzie and Rowlph, I think.
  • Mork and Mindy (duh).
  • M.A.S.H.  My father watched reruns every day and I watched with him.  Part of me still wants to be Hawkeye.
  • Monty Python, Dave Allen and Benny Hill.  Thanks to my Anglophile grandmother.
  • Johnny Carson and all the comedians I saw there.  Thanks to my other grandmother.
  • Hee Haw.  Disturbing but true.  The same grandmother who loved Benny Hill loved this too.  Cheesy jokes have their place. 🙂
  • Saturday Night Live and SCTV.  Thanks to my uncle, I actually saw the first season of SNL.
  • Various stand-up comedy shows when we had cable TV.

It’s a wonder my brain didn’t explode before I was old enough to vote… 😀

Leave a Reply

